The Dwelling at Richmond Hill
Nestled in the heart of historic Richmond, where Shockoe Bottom meets Church Hill, lie the remains of a historic enslaved dwelling on the campus of Richmond Hill. Part of the St. John’s Church Historic District, the property changed hands many times in the years leading up to the Civil War, owned by various powerful families until the Confederate capital fell in 1865. In the years since, it served as a convent and private Catholic boarding and day school, ultimately transitioning ownership in the 1980s .Today, the dwelling—untouched for many decades—is a ruin waiting to be unearthed. Baskervill is working with Richmond Hill to interpret, reimagine, and rehabilitate the remains of this dwelling. Envisioned as a place of reflection, prayer, learning, and listening, the reclamation of the dwelling itself seeks to educate visitors and interpret the lives of those enslaved at the Hill.